TLD is a common acronym in the internet world. However, if you are not a tech savvy or guru, you always wonder what it is. Is it Trade Line Delivery? Or is it Technology Learning Devices?

Relax. This article will answer all your questions about TLDs:

What is a TLD?  

The term “TLD” stands for “Top Level Domain.” This is the name or suffixes or extension that comes after the ‘dot’ in the URLs or the last portion of a domain name. They are terms like .com, .edu, .gov, .net, .org, .biz, .info and such other. There are four types of TLDs: country specific TLDs, generic TLDS, infrastructure TLDs, and international TLDS.

a)  Country-specific Top Level Domains (ccTDLs)

Country-specific TLDs are those ending with a given country  or geographical region extension such as .uk for UK, .us for USA, .fr for France, .ca for Canada or even for UK too, and .ke for Kenya.  They represent a domain extension for the allocated ISO code for a specific country. These TLDs are assigned by the Internet Assigned Numbers Authority (IANA).

Importantly, different ccTDLs have varied restriction for usage. For instance, to use .eu, you must be a resident of European Union countries. In contrary, to use .co which is the country code top-level domain for Columbia do not have such restrictions.

b) Generic Top Level Domains (gTLDs)

Generic TLDs are domain extensions available for use by any person across the world. Examples of them are .com, .net, .org, .biz, .edu and so on.  Under gTLDs, a subcategory known as sponsored domains exists. These are domains restricted for use for specific purposes. For instance, .edu is set aside for use by educational institutions only; .gov is a restricted domain extension for US government and many more examples.

c)  Infrastructure Top Level Domains

 They are also known as ARPA (Address and Routing Parameter Area). The infrastructure TLDs are reserved for use in for technical issues only.

d) International Top-Level Domains (IDNs)

International TLDs are domain extensions that enable locals to use their native language in their domains. For instance, you can use Chinese, Russian or Arabic letters on your web domain extension. The act is possible through the Unicode Standard encoding a protocol used in developing a multilingual internet.


In whole, Top-Level Domains (TLDs) are the portions on the right side of the dot in your URL. They follow under different categories as seen above. Also, there are that everyone including you can use for their URLs while others require you to meet given conditions.

Tips about: